Education and Training

The Commonwealth is home to many of the nation’s top-ranked universities and colleges. Over 107 cyber security programs are offered across the state at 20 public or private four-year institutions or 11 community colleges. Eight universities and three community colleges are nationally recognized as Centers of Excellence designation by the National Security Agency, Department of Homeland Security and Department of Defense. 

Community College
Cyber Programs

The Virginia Community College System offers short term training to two-year degree programs in cyber security at 11 colleges across the state. Short term training can consist of a course that leads to a third-party industry credential such as CompTIA Security+ or CSSIP. Veterans can enroll in certificate and degree programs that usually qualify for federal financial aid or GI Bill benefits.  These programs last from one semester to two years. 

Learn More

Bachelors Degree
Cyber Programs

Many universities and colleges around the state are meeting the workforce needs by enrolling students in cyber and IT pathways. New programs are developed every year.  The bachelor degree programs range from cyber engineering and network security to digital forensics and intelligence analysis. New trends in courses around physical systems security and cryptography. 

Learn More

Masters Degree
Cyber Programs

With the increase in private and public funding for university research in cybersecurity, more master degree programs are being developed. Currently, Virginia has 18 master’s programs across the state which range in MBA’s with cyber specialties and data analytics with digital forensic. 

Learn More

Virginia Veterans Cyber Training Pilot

This program is a public/private partnership to train transitioning service members, military spouses, reservists, National Guardsmen, and recent veterans who have foundational IT skills and want a career in cyber.

Learn More

Virginia’s Community Colleges Veterans / Military Contacts

Blue Ridge Community College
Michelle Eye
(540) 453-2346
eyem@brcc.edu
http://www.brcc.edu/admissions/veterans/
Central Virginia Community College
Tina Murphy
(434) 832-7631
murphyt@cvcc.vccs.edu
http://www.cvcc.vccs.edu/Student%20Services/Veterans/
Dabney S. Lancaster Community College
Rebecca Hise
(540) 863-2856
rhise@dslcc.edu
http://www.dslcc.edu/news/dslcc-veterans-center/
Danville Community College
Howard Graves
(434) 797-8443
hgraves@dcc.vccs.edu
http://www.dcc.vccs.edu/Veterans/veteransaffairs.htm
Eastern Shore Community College
LaKeisha Jones
(757) 789-1777
ljones@es.vccs.edu
http://es.vccs.edu/veterans-resources/
Germanna Community College
Dominique Slaughter
(540) 891-3023
vservices@germanna.edu
http://www.germanna.edu/veterans/
J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College
(804) 523-6464, ext. 5
http://www.reynolds.edu/student_services/veterans/
Mountain Empire Community College
Lena Grace
(276) 523-2400 ext. 217
lgrace@mecc.edu
http://www.mecc.edu/studentsupport/
New River Community College
(540) 674-3693
veterans@nr.edu
www.nr.edu/veterans
Northern Virginia Community College
Takesha McMiller (703) 293-8131
militaryservices@nvcc.edu
www.nvcc.edu.military
Patrick Henry Community College
Rosemary Bowers
(855) 874-6692
rbowers@patrickhenry.edu
http://www.ph.vccs.edu/future/futurefinances/veterans
Paul D. Camp Community College
Franklin Campus: (757) 569-6715
Suffolk Campus: (757) 925-6346
pdc_financial_aid@pdc.edu
https://www.pdc.edu/career-resources/military-veterans
Piedmont Community College
Jackie Fisher
(434) 961-5282
jfisher@pvcc.edu
http://www.pvcc.edu/calling-all-veterans-active-military-members
Rappahannock Community College
Sherika Charity (804) 758-6737
scharity@rappahannock.edu
https://www.rappahannock.edu/catalog/academic-programs/vafa/vbsp
Southside Virginia Community College
Dean Schwartz (434) 736-2100
vabenefits@southside.edu
http://southside.edu/veterans-services
Southwest Virginia Community College
Donna Price
(276) 964-7287
Donna.Price@sw.edu
http://sw.edu/home/admissions/veterans/
Thomas Nelson Community College
(757) 825-2909
va@tncc.edu
http://tncc.edu/military
Tidewater Community College
(757) 822-7645
military@tcc.edu
http://www.tcc.edu/admission/military-students
Virginia Highlands Community College
Deborah Barrett
(276) 739-2460
dbarrett@vhcc.edu
http://www.vhcc.edu/index.aspx?page=1242
Virginia Western Community College
Michele Hilts
(540) 857-7395
mhilts@virginiawestern.edu
http://www.virginiawestern.edu/military/benefits.php
Wytheville Community College
Shauna Crosscup
(276) 223-4764
scrosscup@wcc.vccs.edu
http://www.wcc.vccs.edu/veterans-affairs

Virginia’s Four-Year College Veterans / Military Contacts


Julianna Wait,
University Registrar
757.594.7155
julianna.wait@julianna.wait.edu

Lisa Duncan Rains,
757-594-7846
duncanl@cnu.edu

COL Gary Bissell,
Deputy Chief of Staff and Operations
Lexington, VA
bissellga@vmi.edu
gary.a.bissell.mil@mail.mil
540-464-7824

Ms. Becky Huffman
reg5a@uvawise.edu
276-328-0277

Ms. Narda Porter
nnb3h@nnb3h.edu
276-328-0117

Stephen Ross,
Director of Military Student Services
stross@stross.edu
804-827-8730
Patty Roberts
perobe@wm.edu
(757) 221-3821

Jeremy Martin
jpmartin@wm.edu

Janice Johnson
jjohnson@jjohnson.edu

Tyler Hart
jhart@RBC.EDU

Wayne Ivey
(757) 823-2585
wivey@wivey.edu

Kiama Anthony,
Veterans' Affairs Coordinator
ksa5p@ksa5p.edu

Dave Wolcott,
daw5h@virginia.edu

Ross Johnson
rdjohnson@vsu.edu

Jennifer Connors
Director of Military Services
jconnor3@gmu.edu

Bill Wilson,
wilsonwr@jmu.edu

John Miller,
434-395-2810
millerjd@longwood.edu

Bill Kennan,
Director, Military Resource Center
bkennan@radford.edu

Stephanie Clements,
Veteran Affairs Coordinator
540-231-5815
sclemen@vt.edu

University Registrar,
Veteran Affairs Coordinator
757-683-4425
register@odu.edu

Military Educational Benefits Team,
Veteran Affairs Coordinator
757-683-4425
vaservices@odu.edu